Promote, Promote, Promote

Me again – with more musings about my Etsy shop, www.PaintedbyCarol.com.

As I’ve said, in an online environment, your customer never actually gets to hold the product you are trying to sell them.  To be found in the vast ocean of small sellers on Etsy, Amazon, Shopify, etc., is a challenge, to say the least.  I believe there are two main ways customers find me.  One is a customer already in Etsy and doing a search for something they have in mind.  Second are customers who see a listing on some sort of social media and click on it on impulse.  Today, I’m talking about the second group.

You need your wonderful, handmade offerings to be seen – you have to get them in front of eyes.  There are many platforms to do this – Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, and more.  There’s noting like a beautiful photo of your product to draw buyers to your shop.  Adding relevant keywords or hashtags to your post will help to them find the eyes of interested shoppers, too.  Just send out a photo tweet, and you’ll see an instant jump in your shop stats.  It works every time.  I used to spend hours each day posting to various forms of social media and trying to build my following.  I still have a lot of work to do on that last part.  Over time, I have set up most of my postings with automated services.  The majority of my posts are done for me now, including retweeting.  Across all the services I use, I pay about $1.45 per day.  I figure my time is worth at least $1.45 per hour.

I also belong to an Etsy promotional team.  Beyond just promoting shops for each other, our team is a wonderfully supportive group sharing information about updates to Etsy and offering advice on how we can each improve our shops.  I highly recommend finding a team to support your efforts.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

