Welcome to PaintedbyCarolBlog

Hello!  My name is Carol Blackhurst.  My journey to becoming an artist and jewelry maker has been a long, strange road.

I have always been artistic and considered majoring in Art in college, but I needed a degree I could use to find a well-paying job.  So, I majored in Computer Science and had a lovely 30 year a career in the IT industry.  Alas, mounting issues with battling Fibromyalgia made it impossible for me to continue in my chosen field and I gave up that career 6 years ago.

About 15 years ago, I went with a friend to a 3-hour One-Stroke painting class.  We came away with an adorable paper wastebasket adorned with daisies and butterflies. We had so much fun we decided to take a few more classes.  Donna Dewberry, the creator of One-Stroke began to host a convention here in Orlando.  At one such convention in 2005, I took a little demo class in watercolors.  Eureka!  Where had these been all my life?

Over the past 12 years, I have developed my own watercolor techniques.  I definitely do not painted watercolors properly, but I do what works for me.  I focus on animal and flower studies.  I joined a small non-profit cooperative gallery in 2010.

Etsy has been where my art has taken root.  I joined Etsy in 2011, but it took 2 years for me to get the courage to list anything of my own.  My first sale came in less than a week – a magnet featuring our basset hound, Sophie.

A DIY TV program demonstrated uses for shrink plastic – like Shrinky Dinks when I was a kid.  I wondered if I could print on shrink plastic and use it as jewelry.  That experiment was a dismal failure.  It took many months of experimenting with different ideas before I finally landed on the process I use today.   My Etsy shop now offers a large variety of jewelry items including: flower pendants & earringspet pendants & earringscufflinkstie bars, clips & tacks, kitchy jewelry  and more.

Check back with my blog as I offer more musings on my art and my  Etsy shop!

Leave a Reply

